RSS Feed

Misery loves company…that’s why she hangs out with pessimism

A lot of my favorite quotes are by Winston Churchill, like “Never, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, give up. Never give up. Never give up. Never give up.” and “The pessimist sees the problems in every opportunity. Whereas the optimist sees the opportunity in every problem”

So there I was working diligently on the business and not giving up despite the Global Financial Crisis and other factors pressing in. My eyes are on God from where my help comes. I know I am the head and not the tail when the phone rings. Someone was calling to…encourage me. Here’s how it went;

HER:So how’s business?
ME: So-so, okay
HER: I hear things are quite bad for retailers, how are you coping?
ME: Yeah, its the survival of the fittest
HER:So how bad are things for you?
ME: As bad as it’s going to get, we can only go up from here.
HER: No,Toks I heard its going to get worse
ME: Well even if it does, it’ll get better.
HER: But I heard it won’t be better for at least 3 years!
ME; (Where is this broad from?) I don’t think so, you see ev..
HER:Don’t be fooled! It WILL get worse, ALLLL the financial analysts have said so…
ME (Desperately trying to change the subject):So how’s work?
HER: O.K. Everyone is holding unto their jobs no one wants to be fired.
ME: Thank God for Jesus, he’ll never leave nor forsake us
HER: Hmmm. So what are your plans?
ME: Plans?? (Who is this woman??)
HER: Yes, you have to have a plan B now?
ME: Shut up heifer (only kidding!)

Words are powerful. After that phone call, my peace was indeed disturbed. I was well aware of the state of the economy prior to the call. And I was fine and happy to work harder to counteract the challenges. Now it felt like I had just been informed for the 1st time that things were bad and businesses were suffering. I sat haunted by those words. I prayed and was revived, praise God. Now I know to pray before I speak to her and not after. When her number comes up I plead the blood of Jesus on me, focusing on my ears. I also know that in the course of our conversation, once I bring up the name of God, my friend flees the scene of the crime, ha ha!

There is a recession yes, but I refuse to wait for it to pass. It is perfect timing to strike out and make something beautiful of our lives. My sun is shining so I’m off to make my hay:)
Night night!

4 responses »

  1. Hello once again it’s me, jam.

    I have not downed that can of Redbull yet, nonetheless, i would like to remind you that if memory serves me well (pardon that 9ja expression, can’t help myself) it was Isaac that sowed on the land during a severe drought and reaped a hundredfold.

    So i encourage you to continue forging ahead – God bless.

    Love to La-Familiar.

    Reply
  2. You are absolutely right, you’ll reap a thousandfold, Amen!

    Reply
  3. Wow, I love this! What a true example of how we do not not fight against the physical but the spiritual. The enemy comes is so many form but I am encouraged that you know how to fight the fight with the Word of God. We are on God’s economy but the world’s economy. It is He that provides not man.

    Love you, Sis!

    Reply
    • True. Kind of like how I am able to stay up all night working, watching a movie or chatting with a friend. But struggle to stay up half that time to pray. That’s when the distractions all set in…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

