RSS Feed

Naija Flava

Yesterday found me at Heathrow Airport Terminal 2. Dear sis in law and nephew where returning home after a wonderful holiday with us. There was no time to be sad at their departure as much of my time was spent being extra careful not to bump anyone with my runaway trolley. I’m never quite ready to have a barrage of Yoruba rained on me.
We had four very, very large suitcases as we are sworn patriots. As we approached the lift, this man promptly grabbed my little nephew and lifted him up. Words were not needed. He didn’t need permission to help as we struggled with the trolleys, known to have a mind of their own. He didn’t need to ask where we were going, we know ourselves. This man didn’t say much as he led the way to the Bellview check in desk. Truthfully, I really wanted to stay there just to remain in sync but sis was flying with Arik Air so we broke the connection. But it felt nice. It felt nice when I profusely thanked him and he brushed me aside like, there’s no need for thanks, this is how we do. I felt like a floater when I identified thoughts of concern that he might make off with our child. But the native in me was stronger and I “just knew”
I remember feeling like a floater when I went home in April. The general accent of a lot of our people have evolved into a cross between Naija, Yankee and Jand. Everyone has a mobile phone. I didn’t hear a single western artist rapping or singing, it was all homegrown folk. I can’t get the picture of Uche the driver dancing relentlessly to ‘you’re the finest’ out of my mind.  See more from my April ’09 trip here.

4 responses »

  1. Yo sister from another mother, i am still here and keeping upto date with your blog. Though i have not made any comments lately it is nothing personal, just dealing with my personal challenges as they come hurtling towards me with all manner of intent. Recently they seem to be coming at me with such an increased velocity, i’m beginning to believe someone is trying to bring me to a state of permanent inertia. (but na lie, i ro ni, He that is in me is greater than he that is in whoever and whatever – LoL).

    Anyway, musing on, what is it about Nigerians and always traveling with so many suitcases, haven’t we heard of traveling light, uuh!

    Now talking about the general accent of our people i would like to hear more about this subjective topic from you. I have heard quite a derivative of acquired accents from my people, I’m beginning to think that perhaps we ought to just stick to what we know and be loved for it, afterall the ability to communicate in an intelligible and eloquent manner should be more important than the mere sound of what is considered an “Away” accent.

    Talk to me sister.

    PS: How’s La-Familiar? Especially “Spiderrrrman”, i hope nothing is painning him lately – LoL.

    Reply
    • Hey Brother, nice to hear from you!!
      Regarding trials, we are guaranteed to have them in this life. The good part is that it is seasonal and it will end. Also all that the enemy means for evil, God always turns it around for our good . We are told to rejoice when we face trials and tribulations for many reasons. Trials are tools used by God to perfect us and make us more like Christ, you are being transformed into the image of Christ as you go through these difficulties- so long as you remain submitted to God’s will and are willing to be changed. Another scripture says we walk by faith and not by sight. Even though you can see what you see and can hear what you hear, you must choose to live by faith in His word. His word speaks of the promises of peace and joy, you may not feel that now but you should believe it-because HE said so. God’s promises are true so speak them into being. Find out a scripture that speaks to your specific situation, memorize and meditate on it to build your faith and then declare the truth of God’s word over your life.

      Regarding accents, I agree with you that the emphasis should be on effective communication as opposed to the intonation however I believe that desperate need for an awayrian accent stems from a belief that all things awayrian are of a higher standard than anything African. You’ll find it everywhere- clothes, music, (even pidgin rap is done in an American accent). I think it is a real shame as it reduces any sense of pride left in our heritage.

      Spidererrrman has returned home in an aeroooplane! we miss them so much.

      And thanks so much for keeping up with me!

      Reply
  2. It is written that Nigerians must not travel light. I am just as guilty.how else will they tell us apart ? by their fruits ………

    Thanks for reminding me about the need to walk by faith. One is bombarded on every side by news, statistics and unwanted information and it is so easy to lose sight of what is real and what is not.

    enjoying the blog, keep up the good job. ( see, I have come back a second time 😉

    Reply
    • Mubo you just keep blessing us with your presence sha! Thaks for reading. I agree, why pay all that money to the airlines and not take all my stuff? If I wanted to support a charity I’ll pick world vision. So off I go on my next trip with my 7, no 8 suitcases!
      Do come back to read 2 or 3 times a day dearest, or better still subscribe and you can read them via email. Love ya. look forward to chatting soon.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

