RSS Feed

What’s in a name?

Plenty if you ask me. Hubby and I labored and prayed real hard for our sons’ names. We wanted them to have cool names. I think names have an effect on how you get on in life. It also determines who your friends will be. I went to Primary (elementary) school with a girl called Pinky. I don’t know if that was her real or nickname, but she was popular and a lot had to do with her name. I remember how everyone was happy to say her name without hesitation. My older brother was popular in primary school because he had the same first name as a well loved football star- and of course he has a great personality too. (He reads my blogs so I have to be careful).

My full name is Tokunbo (which is really an abbreviation of the full-full name). In the part of town I grew up it was uncommon. I wouldn’t say it was liked or not, it was just… uncommon. In some cases I had to say it twice for people to  succesfully pronounce it nearly accurately. My surname on the other hand was pretty cool, however it was always spelt wrongly and confused with Ferrari- which happens to be my other car. Amen.  So in no time people took to calling me Ferrari, Perreira, Perempe, Ferara and even Fregene. What was funny was how those “in the know”  would confidently correct others who called me Ferrari or another name from the  melange. Their correction? “It’s not Ferrari, that’s a car! Her name is Ferira”. Wrong again.

It would have been simple if my parents had named me a cool name like Alero. That’s my number one name. I love the way it is spelled- easy, love the sound of it and the fact that it begins with the first letter of the alphabet means an Alero has a higher chance of being the smartest kid in class. Seriously, a survey was conducted and the results suggested kids whose names begin with “A” tend to excel. Perhaps it’s because they were usually called first in the register. My first son is proof, so I’m sticking with that theory. I vowed to name my daughter Alero, even if it meant Hubby and I coming to blows about it. Alas, it was not to be, I don’t have a daughter.

Another name mom could have named me is Tolu. It sounds so cool, I mean literally cool like ice cream. To-lu. When pronounced properly it even sounds melodious. I am blessed to have a good friend called Tolu. And no, you didn’t become my friend because of your name. You are just a sweetheart and I love you!

Yet another name I would have been proud to be called is Buki. Short and sweet. Easy to spell and pronounce. When pronounced properly it suggests there is nothing more; “my name is Buki and that’s it”.  Again I am blessed to have another darling of a friend called Buki.  And since you probably never knew I loved your name, here’s proof that I love you for who you are.

There’s more, like Joke, another short and sweet name. It sounds cheerful and happy, just like my dear friend Joke. Always ready for a chat, always so encouraging. Love you Joke.

I’ll stop now, because this was meant to be a post about names and not friends, sparked by am email I received from another dear friend Bayo. Now I have never wished to have your name, because you’re a dude lol! But it is a lovely name and I’m glad we’re friends, hopefully we’ll see soon.

My post on Friendship will be looooooong. I’ll warn you before hand because you’ll need a snack and a drink. That’s when I’ll tell you all about Lara, and Shade and Iluobe (longest standing friend- 33 years and counting) Nneka and Tola and Abi and Bola and Yejide and Suzy and Funke and Ifeayinwa and Andrea and Kennie and Foluke and Bimbo and Tiwana and Tinuke and Mubo and Josh and Alex and Funmi and Folake and Tony  and Tina…..Yes I really am that blessed.

21 responses »

  1. Yay! Love you too :).

    Reply
  2. Hey toks!!

    You are BLESSED,as we now say, FULL STOP nothing more.

    I wish i could read ur blog everyday ‘cos i always realise a lot i take for granted; thank God for u.

    May the good Lord continue to inspire you.

    Lots of luv.

    Bukkie.

    Reply
  3. Hehe! Not everyone but the privileged few know your middle name. I am blessed to have you in my life.
    Rice and dodo anyone 🙂
    “Trust in HIM at all times, o people; pour out your hearts to HIM, for God is our Refuge” Ps 62:8

    Reply
    • Me too! When you said middle name my mind skipped a beat- “no she wouldn’t” and you didn’t. Love you plenty. And yes, some Rice and Dodo tonight will be fine, I’ll get the chicken out….

      Reply
  4. That was funny because I relate to the name mis-pronunciation magana and I grew up in my state. You should hear the telemarketers(or bill collectors) try. lol.
    Great blog Sis – Well done.
    love you
    xoxo

    Reply
  5. Whats in a name! i say everything & that i have cometo realize that we should really pray before giving that name to a precious child. it tells a lot what the outcome could be.

    I go tell ur senior brother !HA HA HA

    Reply
  6. I love this post! I am partial to certain names as well. Foluke, Yemisi, Bukki adn Morenike. All after people I have come to love in my life. Thanks for the moment of reflection. I will have to start my list of names as we wait for God’s blessings.

    Reply
    • Can’t believe I left out Foluke, here goes another edit. I love Foluke, it is unususal and very feminine. There’s no “Femi girl or Femi boy?” going on there! Thanks for reading Kennie.

      Reply
  7. What is this, are you saying “Bola” my sister is not your friend, and what the heckkkkkkkkkk, you never even said you liked her name. Hmmmmmmmmmmm!!!

    Reply
    • You cleeeaaaarrrllyyyyyyyy did not read this post alllllll the way to the end!!! Gasp!! There isn’t enough room for all the names I love. Your sister’s name is so-so, I like Bolarinde better, but Bola? Not feeling it. It’s like asking if I like Tokunbo.

      Reply
  8. Obviously i missed that while i was reading – My bad! Apologies Mrs. A…………

    Reply
  9. Ooooooooooooooooooh Toks my very very good friend…I feel really honoured to be one of your friends…I am really Touched….BTW how come you have Alex there???????????? how about Dayo? hmmmmmmm

    Reply
  10. Pingback: On Why I Blog… « Toks's Blog

  11. sniff… this is just too much. u still remembered us after all this time? u’re super cool.

    Reply
  12. Pingback: The Nigerians Have Come Again! « Toks's Blog

Leave a Reply

