RSS Feed

Distinguished Person Highlight

When I grow up I want to be like Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. Now I haven’t met Chimamanda but I have read her books and recently heard her speak at a graduation ceremony, thanks to YouTube. Chimamanda has a beautiful, clear voice with an accent that will make you proud to be a native of wherever it is you hail from. But that is not the main reason I want to be like her. Chimamanda  is my ideal leading lady because she is an amazing writer. If you have never read any of her books, I beg you to purchase them and read them.

The first one I read is called Purple Hibiscus. It is hard to believe Purple Hibiscus was written when she was just 27 years old. The way she captures the characters’ emotions as well as dealing with both childlike and grown up issues is amazing. I could not put Purple Hibiscus down. And when I finally did, I was left wanting more. I do not exaggerate when I say I had matured by a few years by the time I was done.

Then she went on to write Half of a Yellow Sun. Up until the time I read this gem of a book, all I knew about the Nigerian civil war was that the Yorubas fled when they should have joined up with the Igbos. I am still baffled by how Chimamanda was able to garner the exact atmosphere and describe the war and the lives of her characters in such explicit details as though she was physically present in every scene, and she was every character. I’m not simply referring to her descriptive abilities and use of language but also to the detail. Like on Ugwu’s journey to his new master’s home:

Ugwu did not believe that anybody, not even this master he was going to live with, ate meat every day. He did not disagree with his aunty, though, because he was too choked with expectation, too busy imagining his new life away from the village……His aunty walked faster, her slippers making slap-slap sounds that echoed in the silent street“.  At the risk of being sued I will not paste any more excerpts, even though I am itching to do so.  Okay one more;

“Ugwu!” Master called. “Bring coke”

Ugwu walked into the sitting room, she smelt of coconuts.

Master didin’t say “Bring me a bottle of Coke“. or “Can you kindly get me some Coke?” He said “Bring Coke!” the way they do. And on it goes. Of course this may sound like the ramblings of an awe-struck fan, I urge you to read an excerpt here. After reading Half of a Yellow Sun I felt strangely confident to be all that I hope to be. I made the decision to do my utmost best in what I do, I must excel in every task and will even watch to make sure the words I speak are wholesome and beneficial to the listener. Reading Chimamanda’s books suggests she did not carry out the task of writing by halves. And neither will I. I may not be a writer (yet) but whatever it is I have been called and equipped to do, I will certainly do it with all my might. I must glorify the one who placed these gifts in me, I will make my Father proud.

10 responses »

  1. Chimamanda rocks. So do you. Seriously though, she reminds me of Chinua Achebe, she’s quite a good writer. You and me, we’ll get there one day. Soon. Wherever our chosen destinations may be. IJN.

    Reply
  2. We will jk, we certainly will. I’m right behind you.

    Reply
  3. THE ULTIMATE VOICE

    read your bit do not really know how but appreciate her imagination

    Reply
  4. I felt exactly the same way when I first read ‘Purple Hibiscus’, it was just too hot to drop!
    I read her second book “Half of a yellow sun” and, initially it did not grab me (maybe because growing up as a little Igbo girl I had heard stories of the civil war from relatives, many of whom fought in the war)and there is a part of me that wants to put that history to ‘rest’. But once I got into the characters and their ‘issues’, then the buzz happened again.

    She is a great tribute to her family and her people.

    Reply
    • You are so blessed to have had the experience of being told first hand stories from the war, and to have been raised an Igbo girl. Would you believe I dealt with pangs of envy of you and all my friends who could say “we’re going ‘home’ for Christmas”? Remember our dealings with ofe-owerri on visiting days?

      Reply
  5. “Ugwu entered the kitchen cautiously, placing one foot slowly after the other. When he saw the white thing, almost as tall as he was, he knew it was the fridge. His aunty had told him about it. A cold barn” — A cold barn what description kool, i guess you have one of her books for a brother to read.

    I wonder how she would describe a microwave from a housegirls perspective – lol.

    Stay blessed my sweet nobel laureate in the making, love to the irobo clan members for me.

    Reply
  6. I meant to say – A cold barn, what a description, kool.

    Excuse my lack of proper punctuation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

