RSS Feed

Totally Random & Unrelated, Not Even Close

When I meet someone nice for the first time, I exchange phone numbers, email addresses, etc. I do so with every intention of staying in touch because I enjoyed our conversation, I think they are lovely and would add to my life and I would love to add value to theirs too. I always add a warning though, I tell them recognising faces is not my strongest point. So if you ever see me walk right past you in public as though I have chosen to “blank” you, actually I haven’t. I simply did not recognise you.

Dear friend Bolatito always had my back when we went out and ran into people we knew. She would say to me; “Toks, the one in the red shirt we know, the one in black we do not know”. I can’t think of the number of guys who thought I was making a pass at them because I smiled at them. I have been known to hug perfect strangers, ugh!

So there I sat at the hairdressers chatting with a really nice lady. It turned out that her son is a well known Christian artist. Not only that but she was married to Maxi Priest’s brother.  (Remember Maxi Priest- cute looking 80s Reggae/R & B singer with dreadlocks? I just wanna be close to you). Now Hubby and I watched him perform on TV recently after a long hiatus and were surprised to see his new look- dreadlocks all gone, in a suit with a new single. So I told this nice lady at the salon (in the spirit of showing off, and  I’m in the know) that Maxi Priest looked nice with his new look.

“New look?”

“Yes, you know without his dreadlocks”, I replied with confidence.

“Maxi Priest hasn’t cut his hair off” she replied, “has he?”

She had this bewildered look that said why would a total stranger know something that I don’t?

“He’s been growing that hair since he was 13! He wouldn’t do that!” She says with disgust. So I call hubby to confirm. Who promptly told me that the singer we watched was not Maxi Priest but Maxwell- another R&B singer with hair.

My back was turned to her and I asked hubby; “where do I now put my face? I’ve just been arguing with Maxi’s sister-in-law!”

It was with great confidence that I turned to her, cleared my throat and admitted that I was wrong and that it was in fact Maxwell I was referring to. Of course at this time I wish I hadn’t gone on and on about how nice he looked with his haircut. I  went to great lengths to assure her that I loved her brother-in-law and loved the dreads too. I don’t know how well I did there. Not that it matters, I didn’t ask for her phone number or email address. So if I “blank” her next time I see her it won’t really matter. Or would it?

www.punkinpatch.co.uk

www.punkin-patch.com

Leave a Reply

